About Us

We are a lively group of psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. We communicate with one another via email through our listserv, where we discuss clinical and theoretical issues and seek referrals. We welcome all licensed mental health clinicians as full members.

Mission Statement

The members of Section VIII seek to apply the theories and treatments of psychoanalysis to the many and varied problems encountered by couples and families. We also want to enlarge the scope of psychoanalytic understanding by incorporating multiple perspectives to fit the added complexity found when people are seen together. As part of the community of Division 39, we seek active dialogue with our colleagues to promote the broadest possible understanding of the special ways for psycho-analytic practitioners to engage with couples and families.  Along with other members of Division 39, we work to promote outreach activities that address psychological and other needs in the society at large. Finally, we speak for the interests of all families. Because each family exists in the context of their culture, ethnic background, and sexual orientation, it is our responsibility to grasp their diverse subjective experiences in all aspects of their lives.

Officers & Board of Directors

President: President: Francine Godet, Psy.D. (2020-2021)
President-Elect: Stephanie Manes, J.D., LCSW (2020-2021)
Past President: Phyllis Cohen, Psy.D. (2020-2021)
Founding President: Mary-Joan Gerson, Ph.D.
Secretary: Roberta Caplan, Ph.D. (2018-2020)
Treasurer: Sarah White, Psy.D. (2020-2021)
Representative to Division 39 Board: Antonia Halton, Ph.D. (2018-2020)

Noa Ashman, L.C.S.W. (2018-2020)
Sarah Blair Jenkins, MSW (2019-2021)
Sonia Kahn, Psy.D. (2019-2021)
Ortal Kirson-Trilling, Psy.D. (2020-2021)
Stacy Malin, Ph.D. (2020-2021)
Luis Eduardo Carneiro Nobrega, LLM, Psy.D. (2018-2020)
Sarah White, Psy.D. (2019-2021)

Committee Chairs

Sarah White, Psy.D., as Treasurer
Nominations and Elections: Phyllis Cohen, Psy.D., as Past-President
Program: Francine Godet, Psy.D., as President

Education and Training: Roberta Caplan, Ph.D.
Gerald Stechler Award: Francine Godet, Psy.D
International Affiliations: Mary-Joan Gerson, Ph.D.
Technology (Listserv and Website): Sonia Kahn, Psy.D.
Mentor Matching: Ortal Kirson-Trilling, Psy.D.
Newsletter Committee:
Programming: Phyllis Cohen, Psy.D.
Public Policy: Cindy Baum-Baicker, Ph.D.
Research: Francine Godet, Ph.D.
Scholar: Monique Bowen, Ph.D. & Luis Eduardo Carneiro Nobrega, LLM, Psy.D.